Posted by: sternenfeeinflorida | 18 March 2009

Twitter & random thoughts

Recently I’ve read more and more about Facebook trying to become more like Twitter and worries that Twitter may be sold to Facebok or Google or somebody, which will in essence destroy what Twitter is right now. While I agree that Twitter is special, I doubt that Facebook will ever become like Twitter. Twitter is way to specialized right now and I hope it stays that way. It takes a certain type of person to join and stay on Twitter. Not everyone is suited and unless Twitter changes its concept and marketing strategy, it’ll stay that way.

I recently read about Twitter on an unrelated website about someone who was on Twitter. She was very enthusiastic and some of the replies she got were quite typical, I think. “I don’t think this is for me.” “I don’t see anything in Twitter.” “Twitter must be for mobile users, the interface is just too bland for me.” “I looked into Twitter and there was nothing there.” WHAT??? Nothing there??? What were you expecting? Twitter is what you make of it. That’s the only rule anyone ever needs to know or follow. Apparently some people cannot grasp that concept of creating something completely of their own, something that only they are responsible for. Twitter is like a delicate plant that you have to feed and nourish if you want to be rewarded for your efforts. I think that if Twitter continues this path and doesn’t change its concept, we’ll all be safe in the Twitterverse we created.

As a follow-up on my last blog post about the perfect man for me, I’d like to add that I completely forgot about about his family. How could I have is beyond me. It’s so important that I like his family and his family likes me, too. Especially if one of us is far from home. I’m a total family person, I love my family with all my heart and would spend all holidays with them if I only could.

I’ve been asking myself lately if I’m giving up too early on what could become an interesting relationship. Have I been through the same routine so many times before that as soon as things don’t go the way they should, I’d rather move on instead of trying to make things work? I thought I finally found someone who wouldn’t take the same bs I’m so done with. Well, maybe I did and maybe I didn’t. A very dear friend told me I’m looking out relationships that have an expiration date and the more I think about it the more I think that in a way he’s right. I get bored easily and then I move on. Sometimes though, I fail, especially when in my mind I am not done yet with whomever I’m seeing. Sometimes there’s more I want to find out, experience and enjoy him. I agree though, that I’ve become very cautious as to who I truly let into my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

