Posted by: sternenfeeinflorida | 2 December 2009

World Aids Day

Well, if you look at the calendar, today is World Aids Day.
I don’t quite remember when the word Aids made its way into my vocabulary, the first time it had an impact on my life was when Queen’s Freddy Mercury announced he was HIV positive and had Aids. He died only one day later. I was 14 years old. I wouldn’t say it changed my life but it certainly raised my awareness. I learned about the truths and myths and yet it seemed far too far away to ever concern me. Even as I got older, protection was largely optional, I trusted the people I chose to have sex with, my largest concern getting pregnant by some stupid mistake.
Never in my life would I have thought that all this could change, that this disease could enter my life. No, I am not HIV positive. I get tested regularly. The man I love, however, is positive. We do have to take certain precautions and life with the virus is sometimes much harder than it seems and yet, it could always be a lot worse. I’m hoping that everything will continue the way it is for a long time, always keeping in mind that things can change in an instant. This has changed me, the way I look at our relationship. I enjoy every minute we can spend together, knowing that neither one of us will know ahead of time when things start going bad. I don’t think I will ever be prepared for that moment but I don’t think anyone would be.
I’m very happy in this relationship, I think that’s all I can ask for.

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this with us – you are both living proof that happy relationships are indeed possible whilst living with HIV.I do hope World Aids Day, and posts like yours raise awareness… Too many people still to this day don't feel it's important to wear protection.It only takes one time. That's all I can say.xoxo Jelly


Leave a Reply

Categories

