Posted by: sternenfeeinflorida | 3 August 2010

Thoughts on Safe Sex

Yesterday I took some time to watch a documentary. Between work and school, I never have time to watch movies, documentaries, anything. But I just needed some mental time off and yesterday seemed to be a good day.

So I watched Sex Positive, a documentary about Richard Berkowitz, who is basically the founder of safe sex after being diagnosed with HIV. The documentary does a great job showing Berkowitz’s life and how he came to realize that it’s not what you do but how you do it that protects people from HIV and other STD’s.

While we all know about the importance of safe sex today, more than 20 years after its importance was first recognized, it’s still far from common practice. Too many people still think of condoms primarily as a tool to prevent pregnancy. As soon as a woman says she uses some kind of contraception to prevent pregnancy, too often the use of a condom is dismissed as unnecessary. The protection condoms offer against HIV and other STD’s becomes a background issue but not the priority.

For Angels & Devils. Participate.

When I was growing up, I knew there was such a thing as AIDS and while prevention was advertised everywhere in the early 90’s, it didn’t make me use condoms more often.  I was lucky, the amount of partners vastly outnumbers the amount of partners that actually used a condom. Yet, I never tested positive for anything. I know I am incredibly lucky.

I can only imagine that the dismissal to use condoms is still even more present in the gay community but I can’t possibly comment on that properly.

A lot of education still needs to be done to make condoms the primary tool for safe sex for everyone and not display them as a contraceptive to prevent pregnancy. This education is even more important now, since there are treatments for most STD’s, including HIV, that allow the carrier to live a basically normal lifespan. I wish that more people would educate their children about the importance of practicing safe sex and using condoms. I wish that schools would incorporate more sex education and really emphasize the importance of safe sex, making sure that condoms do more than prevent pregnancy and that there are many ways to prevent pregnancy but only two to protect yourself against HIV and other STD’s: complete abstinence and safe sex.

Responses

  1. Here is a link to Richard’s website. http://richardberkowitz.com/

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sunje and Morticia, Inga Rós. Inga Rós said: RT @Sternenfee: New Blog – Thoughts on Safe Sex: http://wp.me/pOr3l-1l […]

  3. A great post! I agree wholeheartedly that condoms often get dismissed. People rarely understand the gravity of the situation, and that they are putting their own health and wellbeing at risk for a few minutes (or hours, if you’re lucky) of pleasure.

    Thanks for sharing xx

  4. great post! I 100% agree that schools should be incorporating more sexual health education into their curriculum! it really could make a great difference!


Leave a Reply

Categories

