Posted by: sternenfeeinflorida | 4 November 2010

My very own thoughts on the election results

So, on Tuesday much of the country voted for their governors, senators & representatives, among many others.
I live in Florida and as you know, my citizenship prevents me from voting in the US. But the inability to vote doesn’t prevent me from following what’s going on in my state of residence.
I thought that in Florida, there were three candidates running for the Senator’s seat. After the polls closed and the results started to come in, I had to discover that, much to my surprise, there were 10 (!!!) candidates! WTF???
After some inquiry, nobody I talked to had heard anything about the other candidates, either! Uhm, that doesn’t sound much like fair elections to me. Unless they were last minute write-in candidates, the media did a poor job covering all candidates and inform voters of their choices. Instead it implies that, unless you have enough money to pay the media to present your agenda, along with plenty of campaign ads, nobody will know that someone’s running for an important government position. At the same time, voters won’t know what that candidate actually stands for and forgo their chance to find out which candidate actually represents their needs best.

On the other hand, it looks as though the Republicans will at least take over the House of Representatives. If the Democrats can keep the Senate, it should, theoretically, make for more efficient and effective politics. Of course it’ll depend on the willingness of both parties to work together and find compromises on decisions that divide the parties.
It will be interesting to see how both parties approach this new situation and where their priorities will be. Will they base their decisions on their own ideologies or will they put the people’s will first? I hope the teaparty movement supporters will keep close watch over “their” candidates and ensure they stay true to the principles.
This country needs more transparency, less influence of lobbyists and elimination of earmarks and pork.
While I remain skeptical that this will actually happen, it would be nice to see a change for the better in the way legislature is passed these days.

Responses

  1. Really terrific post. Theoretically I could write something like this too, but taking the time and effort to make a good article is a lot of effort…but what can I say….I’m a procrastinater. Good read though.

  2. I agree with your analysis of the election in general but most of all I shared your skepticism that much will get done over the next two years. I cant see any scenario wherein the G.O.Pee co-operates with the Democratic Party any meaningful way to pass legislation to the benefit of middle class Americans. I like your writing style very much Sunje.

  3. Typically I do not make comments on blogs, but I have to mention that this post really forced me to do so. Really proficient post.

  4. Delightful, I passed this on to a aide of mine, and he actually bought me lunch because I found this for him, so let me rephrase: Thanks for lunch.


Leave a Reply

Categories

